tamapi.blogg.se

How to delete a drive in windows 10
How to delete a drive in windows 10




how to delete a drive in windows 10

I suspect that the reason the phantom drive letters persisted through a reboot was because of Windows 10's "Soft Restart" and "Fast Startup" features, which do not actually shut down or reboot anymore when you tell it to do a shutdown or reboot. This problem went away on its own after some Windows Updates forced a reboot of the computer. These drive letters are "stuck" now and I can't get rid of them. I opted to show hidden devices and removed every grayed out storage volume listed, but the drive letters remain. There's nothing in Device Manager that's holding them either. The drive letters do not correspond to anything in the Disk Management console, so I can't remove them from there. I tried using Diskpart again to assign them the same letters, but it tells me that those letters are already in use. I tried plugging the drives back in so I could remove the letter, but the EFI partitions on those drives did not get drive letters (which is the normal behavior). Now I have two phantom drive letters S: and T: that are now permanently mapped to my PC even though I no longer have the hard drives in question attached. I had to update the BCD store on them so I used Diskpart to assign letters S: and T: to the EFI partitions on the drives. I recently attached two GPT-formatted USB hard drives to my Win10 workstation.






How to delete a drive in windows 10